Five SACs designated in the British SBAs in Cyprus

29 January 2016

Share to
It was with great pleasure that we were informed of the official designation of five Special Areas of Conservation (SACs) by the Administration of the Sovereign Base Areas in Cyprus. The official designation was announced in the SBA gazette on 30 December 2015. The announcement was preceded by a public consultation on the proposals which ended in July 2015. BirdLife Cyprus sent its comments on the draft proposals in June 2015.

The five SAC areas designated are: 1. Akrotiri, 2. Episkopi, 3. Cape Pyla, 4. Dhekelia and 5. Agios Nikolaos. There were almost no changes on the terrestrial part in relation to the original proposal. The main changes are related to the marine part, part of which has been removed. Moreover, the area in Western SBA was split into two SACs, thus, we now have Akrotiri SAC and Episkopi SAC.

BirdLife Cyprus welcomes the designation and congratulates the SBAs for completing a thorough scientific evaluation that led to the protection of those sites. BirdLife Cyprus expects these designations will now lead to better protection of these important areas as well as the implementation of relevant management measures.

needs you

Support the work that we do by becoming a member and adding power to our voice and enhancing our influence at both local and state level.

Adopt a Griffon Vulture

Make a real difference and help protect the future of nature and birds in Cyprus and beyond by symbolically adopting a bird and providing us with the necessary funds to continue our critical conservation work to protect the wild birds of Cyprus and their habitats.

Get our news by email
Subscribe to our newsletter


P.O. Box 12026
2340, Nicosia Cyprus


Follow us: